New Youth Council Appointed

New Youth Council Appointed Posted: 21-06-2017

A dozen young leaders will provide a voice for young people in the region, following the appointment of the 2017/18 Rural City of Wangaratta Youth Council this week.

Rural City of Wangaratta Mayor Ken Clarke OAM congratulated the Youth Councillors and thanked the outgoing Youth Council for their efforts over the past 12 months.

“The outgoing Youth Council have driven some great initiatives in Wangaratta, including the Celebrate Youth event held on the weekend,” he said.

“The new Youth Council includes a strong mix of young people from Wangaratta’s education providers.

“Youth Council has an important role to play in providing a voice for young people to engage with Council and the broader community.

“My fellow Councillors and I look forward to working with the Youth Council over the next 12 months.”

A Youth Mayor and Deputy Youth Mayor will be appointed at the first meeting of the new Youth Council, expected to take place in August.

2017/18 Youth Councillors:

Leela Rosser (Borinya Wangaratta Community Partnership)

Dalton Bell (GOTAFE – VCAL)

Tiffany Burman-Fry (GOTAFE – VCAL)

Jordyn Parker-Richards (Wangaratta High School)

Gabriel Hernandez (Wangaratta High School)

Oliver Hernandez (Wangaratta High School)

Chloe Dowell (Wangaratta High School)

Angle Makeham (Borinya Wangaratta Community Partnership)

Sarah Sherwill (Borinya Wangaratta Community Partnership)

Naomi Luhan (Cathedral College Wangaratta)

Hannah Savery (Galen Catholic College)

Christopher D’Agostino (Borinya Wangaratta Community Partnership)

Last Updated: 21-06-2017

Send Us Your Feedback
Was this information useful?
Not Useful   Very Useful
  Please enter your email address.